Welcome to the Public Works Department

Department Overview

The city's Director of Public Works manages the largest department in the City of Piedmont with 16 full-time staff members. The Director oversees all functions including building, planning, engineering, sewers, storm drains, streets and park maintenance. He is assisted by four separate division heads who manage building, planning, project management and maintenance and by various contract employees who assist with engineering and design projects.

The department's responsibilities include the following areas: building permits, building inspections, code enforcement, planning and zoning, conditional use permits, second unit permits, sidewalks and curbs, street resurfacing, street sweeping, street lights, street trees, sewers, parks, filming permits, banner hanging permits, drop box permits and garage sale permits.


Department Directory

General Inquiries      
Chester Nakahara Director of Public Works (510) 420-3061 cnakahara@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Marietta Blessent Administrative Assistant (510) 420-3051 mblessent@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Viba Regalado-Silva Administrative Assistant (510) 420-3052 vregalado@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Planning      
General Planning & Zoning Inquiries Planning Technician (510) 420-3050 ondutyplanner@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Kate Black City Planner (510) 420-3063 kblack@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Kevin Jackson Assistant City Planner (510) 420-3039 kjackson@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Parks      
Mark Feldkamp Parks & Project Manager (510) 420-3064 mfeldkamp@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Maintenance      
Dave Frankel Supervisor of Maintenance (510) 420-3065 dfrankel@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Building      
Robert Akiyama Building Official (510) 420-3062 rakiyama@ci.piedmont.ca.us
Craig Griffin Plan Checker (510) 420-3060 cgriffin@ci.piedmont.ca.us