Welcome to the Public Works Department

Department Overview

The city's Director of Public Works manages the largest department in the City of Piedmont with 16 full-time staff members. The Director oversees all functions including building, planning, engineering, sewers, storm drains, streets and park maintenance. He is assisted by four separate division heads who manage building, planning, project management and maintenance and by various contract employees who assist with engineering and design projects.

The department's responsibilities include the following areas: building permits, building inspections, code enforcement, planning and zoning, conditional use permits, second unit permits, sidewalks and curbs, street resurfacing, street sweeping, street lights, street trees, sewers, parks, filming permits, banner hanging permits, drop box permits and garage sale permits.


Department Directory

General Inquiries      
Chester Nakahara Director of Public Works (510) 420-3061 cnakahara@piedmont.ca.gov
Viba Regalado-Silva Administrative Assistant (510) 420-3052 vregalado@piedmont.ca.gov
Mark Enea Administrative Assistant (510) 420-3051 menea@piedmont.ca.gov
Nicole Finley Administrative Assistant (510) 420-3050 nfinley@piedmont.ca.gov
Planning      
General Planning & Zoning Inquiries (510) 420-3050 ondutyplanner@piedmont.ca.gov
Kevin Jackson Planning Director (510) 420-3039 kjackson@piedmont.ca.gov
Pierce Macdonald-Powell Senior Planner (510) 420-3063 pmacdonald@piedmont.ca.gov
Chris Yeager Associate Planner (510) 420-3067 cyeager@piedmont.ca.gov
Mira Hahn Assistant Planner (510) 420-3054 mhahn@piedmont.ca.gov
Steven Lizzarago Planning Technician (510) 420-3094 sLizzarago@piedmont.ca.gov
Parks      
Nancy Kent Parks & Project Manager (510) 420-3064 nkent@piedmont.ca.gov
Maintenance      
Dave Frankel Supervisor of Maintenance (510) 420-3065 dfrankel@piedmont.ca.gov
Building      
Craig Griffin Building Official (510) 420-3060 cgriffin@piedmont.ca.gov
Paki Muthig Plans Examiner (510) 420-3062 pmuthig@piedmont.ca.gov